Switchfoot "Fading West EP"
by Kelcey Wixtrom (cmaddict.com) on 2013-09-24 17:23:09
SPONSORED




Switchfoot’s new EP, Fading West, begins with a chanted “1, 2, 3, 4, 5” woven throughout the track “Who We Are”. Featuring children’s choir on the chorus, the upbeat feel of the song makes it my favorite of the EP. It alludes to a childhood innocence and determination to make it in the world, but also looks back from an adult’s perspective after having proven true what they set out to be.

“Love Alone is Worth the Fight” takes it down a notch but is still relatively upbeat. The song advocates living for today and being passionate and intentional. It challenges fear and claims love calling you back home.

While slightly less targeted, “BA55” is a grungy attempt to describe what seems to be a worship experience. The feel of this song matches this experience, as it can be a very hard thing to describe all of the emotions wrapped up in worship. “I believe you’re the fire that could burn me clean” is driven hard in the middle.

This EP overall is a really solid work and in the spirit of Switchfoot’s past releases. I love the concept of putting out a smaller collection of songs in an EP and appreciate that these veterans are leading the way in this process. The EP is a taste of a full-length album, Fading West, set to release in January 2014.



Rating: 4 out of 5

Genre: Alternative / Rock
Label: Atlantic Records/Word
Release Date: September 17, 2013
Buy it: Amazon - iTunes

Tracklist:
1. Who We Are
2. Love Alone is Worth the Fight
3. BA55




SPONSORED


Recent Reviews
Gone (Deluxe)
RED

Release Date: October 27, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
In Prayer
Salt of the Sound

Release Date: October 13, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
It’s Finally Christmas (EP)
Casting Crowns

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Suddenly (or The Nuclear Sunburst of the Truth Revealed)
Young Oceans

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Echoes
Matt Maher

Release Date: September 29, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Faith Hope Love Repeat
Brandon Heath

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey




More Content from CMADDICT
NEWS
HAWK NELSON BELIEVES IN MIRACLES; NEW ALBUM RELEASES APRIL 6

NASHVILLE, TENN. (FEBRUARY 08, 2018) Hawk Nelson is gearing up for spring with a brand new album releasing on April 6th and tour beginning later this month on February 22nd. The new album, Miracles
MUSIC VIDEO
Owl City - Be Brave

2018-04-06 11:51:15
ARTICLE
Slightly Obsessed #216: Daddy Has You

As I sat at the red light, a pick-up pulled up beside me in the other lane. The window was rolled down, and the driver rested his arm lazily on the door ledge. A chihuahua fur baby sat perched in the crook of the driver’s arm, yapping with all its tiny might at the pickup in front of me.
FREE DOWNLOAD
Be Still, My Soul
Salt of the Sound

Album: In Prayer
Genre: Worship

Social Media



Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved · CMADDICT.com