Switchfoot "Fading West EP"
by Kelcey Wixtrom (cmaddict.com) on 2013-09-24 17:23:09
SPONSORED




Switchfoot’s new EP, Fading West, begins with a chanted “1, 2, 3, 4, 5” woven throughout the track “Who We Are”. Featuring children’s choir on the chorus, the upbeat feel of the song makes it my favorite of the EP. It alludes to a childhood innocence and determination to make it in the world, but also looks back from an adult’s perspective after having proven true what they set out to be.

“Love Alone is Worth the Fight” takes it down a notch but is still relatively upbeat. The song advocates living for today and being passionate and intentional. It challenges fear and claims love calling you back home.

While slightly less targeted, “BA55” is a grungy attempt to describe what seems to be a worship experience. The feel of this song matches this experience, as it can be a very hard thing to describe all of the emotions wrapped up in worship. “I believe you’re the fire that could burn me clean” is driven hard in the middle.

This EP overall is a really solid work and in the spirit of Switchfoot’s past releases. I love the concept of putting out a smaller collection of songs in an EP and appreciate that these veterans are leading the way in this process. The EP is a taste of a full-length album, Fading West, set to release in January 2014.



Rating: 4 out of 5

Genre: Alternative / Rock
Label: Atlantic Records/Word
Release Date: September 17, 2013
Buy it: Amazon - iTunes

Tracklist:
1. Who We Are
2. Love Alone is Worth the Fight
3. BA55






Recent Reviews
Every Mile Mattered
Nichole Nordeman

Release Date: July 28, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Rating: 4 stars
Revival
Third Day

Release Date: August 4, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Rating: 4 stars
Wildfires
Stephen Christian

Release Date: July 28, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 3 stars
Wonder
Hillsong United

Release Date: June 9, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 4.5 stars
Reubonic
John Reuben

Release Date: May 19, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Rating: 3.5 stars
Hands High
Equippers Revolution

Release Date: July 14, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Rating: 4.5 stars




More Content from CMADDICT
NEWS
PLUMB Returns with “God Help Me” Single

Nashville, TN – Today, PLUMB launched the next chapter of her career, releasing her new single “God Help Me.” The song, produced by Jeremy Redmon (Big Daddy Weave), has already found a place on radio, being added out of..
MUSIC VIDEO
NASA - NASA Live Solar Eclipse Coverage

2017-08-21 09:03:30
ARTICLE
Slightly Obsessed #192: Heaven Is Calling: Consider Jesus

Some days we can barely hear it. Other days it drives us to our knees. But it’s always there; that persistent tug in our souls. Whether we trudge through our days or chase the stars of fame and fortune, we can’t drown out the cry that sounds silently in the pit of our being, jarring us with its urgency and moving us with its tears.
FREE DOWNLOAD
Say
Alive City

Album: Say
Genre: Pop


Copyright © 2017 · All Rights Reserved · CMADDICT.com