Read the New Slightly Obsessed #184: The Mark of Maturity
Newsboys "Restart (Deluxe Edition)"
by Julia Kitzing ( on 2013-08-13 11:08:12
When Michael Tait took over as lead vocals for Newsboys they’ve never looked back and their albums just keep getting better. The message is louder and bolder than ever before. The quirky lyrics that they were known for in songs like “Shine” and “Breakfast” may not be there anymore but the message is as loud and bold as ever. Duncan Phillips said that “Restart” was going to be “Born Again” on steroids. The album showcases everyone’s talents both individually and as a group from “This Home” with a slow tempo and piano ballad to “Restart” where everyone has a chance to show their talents throughout the song.

The first radio single off of the album “Live with Abandon” is already climbing the Countdown Magazine’s top 20 and mostly recently (week of Aug. 10th) was #17. The album starts out with “That’s How You Change the World” with a taste of what the rest of the album has to offer.  Next up is “That Home” which reflects on a mother’s love and selflessness.  “Fishers of Men” shares the great commission and urgency with what I’m sure will be a fun track to hear live. Quirky lyrics like, “seven billion people on a spinning ball and they all mean the world to You” send the message of urgency to take the Gospel to the ends of the world.  “One Word” is a song that shares just how much one word can bring healing. Lyrics like, “with just one word the stone rolled away, with just one word You conquered the grave, ‘cause when You speak the dead are raised”.  

“Enemy” reflects on the fact that God never gives up on us and is always there even when we turn our back on Him.  The final song on the regular edition is called “We Believe” and declares a bold faith in Jesus. It’s almost like a prayer stating what we believe as Christians. I can see this being used in churches on Sunday mornings.

The deluxe edition has five bonus songs. Two of the songs feature Kevin Max (from DC Talk, now the lead singer of Audio Adrenaline).  For die-hard fans of Newsboys who don’t mind spending a few extra bucks the deluxe edition is a must have for your collection. Songs like: “Overflow”, “God is ‘Movin”, “Stronger”, “Man on Fire” and “The Living Years” are found only on the deluxe edition. Kevin Max is found on “Man on Fire” and “The Living Years”. Personally, I think “Man on Fire” should have been included on the regular edition.  Lyrics like “I used to act like everybody told me, I tried to just fit in, but then I met my Savior, and He showed me a new way to live” speak so much truth to how we all were before we met Jesus.
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Genre: Pop / Rock
Label: Sparrow (Universal)
Release Date: September 10, 2013
Buy it: Amazon - iTunes

01. That's How You Change The World
02. Restart
03. Love Like I Mean It
04. Live With Abandon
05. Go Glow
06. That Home
07. Disaster
08. Fishers Of Men
09. One Word
10. Enemy
11. We Believe
12. Overflow (Deluxe Version)
13. Man On Fire feat. Kevin Max (Deluxe Version)
14. God Is Movin (Deluxe Version)
15. The Living Years feat. Kevin Max (Deluxe Version)
16. Stronger (Deluxe Version)
See more reviews by Julia Kitzing
Latest Reviews
See all reviews

Copyright 2015 All Rights Reserved