Group 1 Crew "Power"
by Michael Tackett ( on 2016-09-28 10:59:03

A “new chapter” for any band can be risky. Whether its band members are leaving, thinking of changing musical directions or even calling it quits, it can test not only the band but also the band's core audience. Group 1 Crew entered a new chapter with their latest release, Power. With one original band member left, Maxwell Reyes, taking the reigns it's clear that the band is motivated more than ever to make sure this new chapter is a good one.

With all the changes taking place in the band, it's only natural that Reyes and crew tackle not only their personal changes but their doubts as well. Songs like “20/20,” “Wake Up,” and “People of a Second Chance” walk through one's doubts on feeling unworthy of grace or redemption. All the while, however, the band draws the listener to the conclusion that through God's love and grace they are loved and redeemed.

Another common theme in Power is relationships. Songs like “Bad Day,” “On Again Off Again,” and “Burn” deal with relationship issues and trying to get through the pain and understanding of break ups. A very common topic that many Christian acts don’t talk about as much so it’s pretty refreshing to see a band be so vulnerable and talk about real relationship struggles.

Power musically is a diverse and rich undertaking that incorporates electric, rap, R&B and pop into one collective record. It’s a late summer sleeper hit and one that you shouldn’t miss out on. The band sings in “Best is Yet To Come” – “This ain't the end of the story, no, it's just begun.” Couldn’t have said it better myself.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Genre: Pop / Hip-Hop
Label: Fervent Records
Release Date: July 29, 2016
Buy it: Amazon - iTunes

Power (3:51)
Phenomenal (3:35)
20/20 (4:14)
Download (3:18)
Wake Me Up (Amnesia) (4:01)
Bad Day (3:41)
Take It All In (3:29)
Burn (4:40)
Mona Lisa (3:41)
On Again Off Again (3:28)
I Know (3:22)
Set Sail (3:41)
Inevitable (4:11)
People Of A Second Chance (3:36)
Best Is Yet To Come (3:18)
Hold Back The Rain (4:22)

Recent Reviews
Serve Somebody
Kevin Max

Release Date: July 7, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 4.5 stars
Every Mile Mattered
Nichole Nordeman

Release Date: July 28, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Rating: 4 stars
Third Day

Release Date: August 4, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Rating: 4 stars
Stephen Christian

Release Date: July 28, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 3 stars
Hillsong United

Release Date: June 9, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 4.5 stars
John Reuben

Release Date: May 19, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Rating: 3.5 stars

More Content from CMADDICT

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (September 6, 2017) — “Real Love,” the brand-new song from powerhouse vocalist Blanca, is now available at all digital service providers and digital retailers. Upon release on Aug. 25, Spotify immediately added the fresh single to
NF - Let You Down (audio)

2017-09-15 13:28:23
Slightly Obsessed #196: Is Your God Too Small?

Across the United States, nature has been on a rampage. A series of earthquakes, fires, hurricanes,
Alive City

Album: Say
Genre: Pop

Copyright © 2017 · All Rights Reserved ·