Jason Gray "Where The Light Gets In"
by Jon Ownbey (cmaddict.com) on 2016-05-25 12:03:57

Jason Gray releases his 6th album "Where The Light Gets In" under the Centricity Music Label. The album features 12 new songs and one hit single "Glow In The Dark" from a previous album. This album is no one hit wonder though, it showcases the strength of Jason’s songwriting ability.

The sound of this album is an upbeat contemporary sound that relies upon the strength of Jason’s vocal and guitar skills. The message throughout this album is one of hope, with lyrics that are fresh and don’t feel cliché.

All of the songs flow together very well and once you start listening, before you know it, you will be finished. What is most amazing to me and something I would have never known until doing further research into Jason’s career, is that he has a speech impediment. My only personal complaint about this album is there are a few places that almost have a country music feel and sound.

While not a pop or worship album, it is both lyrically and instrumentally sound. The upbeat message is sure to put a smile on your face and the length of this album make it a great deal. Jason Gray stands on his own as a true artist and is definitely a good listen. If you want a fresh new sound without cliché lyrics, then this is definitely an album that is worth a listen.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Genre: Contemporary
Label: Centricity Music
Release Date: June 17, 2016
Buy it: Amazon - iTunes

Learning (3:17)
Sparrows (3:27)
I Will Rise Again (3:30)
Stolen (3:32)
Resurrection (2:50)
More Yours (3:20)
Death Without a Funeral (3:39)
The Wound Is Where the Light Gets In (2:49)
Where We Go From Here (3:10)
Learning To Be Found (3:57)
Glow In the Dark (3:52)
Celebrate (3:13)
Thank You For Everything (3:54)


Recent Reviews
Gone (Deluxe)

Release Date: October 27, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
In Prayer
Salt of the Sound

Release Date: October 13, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
It’s Finally Christmas (EP)
Casting Crowns

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Suddenly (or The Nuclear Sunburst of the Truth Revealed)
Young Oceans

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Matt Maher

Release Date: September 29, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Faith Hope Love Repeat
Brandon Heath

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey

More Content from CMADDICT

12 December 2019 – Nashville, TN – GRAMMY®-nominated band Building 429 is wrapping up one of their most successful years yet thanks to a big hit radio single, a holiday EP, and the announcement of a new partnership.
TobyMac - 21 Years

2020-01-13 16:53:23
Slightly Obsessed #238: When the Night Closes In

What should we do when night descends, and sleep doesn’t come? When the wolves of worry encircle us in the dark, how are we to respond?
Well Done (Acoustic)
The Afters

Album: Fear No More
Genre: Rock

Social Media

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved · CMADDICT.com