Lacey Sturm "Life Screams"
by Michael Tackett ( on 2016-03-09 11:10:01

Lacey Sturm is no newbie when it comes to the music scene. She fronted the breakout rock band Flyleaf through the late 2000s until she left the band in 2012. She also contributed guest vocals on David Crowder*Band's record, Church Music, and Third Day's record “Revelation.” In 2014, she published her first book "The Reason: How I Discovered a Life Worth Living" and early this fall will also publish her second book “The Mystery: Finding Love in a World of Broken Lovers.” On top of all that, she just released her first solo project "Life Screams" earlier this month!

Resisting temptation, darkness and focusing on the Creator of the Universe - that can hold, counsel, and bare the weight of your pain, is the running theme of this record. The hit single “Impossible” starts off with a bang and “You’re Not Alone” finds Lacey singing, “Love will never leave, Truth will not forsake. Eternal thoughts will keep your heart safe." It’s the balancing of doubt and faith that makes this record a true gem.

Songs like “Feel Like Forever” and “I’m Not Laughing” have some of the catchiest lyrics and hard driven guitar that we have come to expect from Lacey. It’s a real treat to see her back behind the mic and hitting you with some guitar riffs.

The album closes with the heartfelt “Run To You.” Upon early listen, it’s apparent the song is about The Parable of the Prodigal Son. It's a beautiful story that shows a father's love is so great he is willing to let go of his son as the son tries to find his own way.

Lacey feels very much in her element in "Life Screams." Her vocals have never sounded better and the lyrics are very refreshing and relevant. You can tell that she bore her soul on this record and that type of raw honesty and musical talent is refreshing in a time when Christian rock seems too stagnant. This is a pure hard rock record folks and one you don’t want to miss out on!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Genre: Rock
Label: Followspot Records
Release Date: February 12, 2016
Buy it: Amazon - iTunes

Impossible (3:39)
The Soldier (2:54)
I'm Not Laughing (3:17)
Vanity (1:48)
Rot (3:24)
You're Not Alone (3:35)
Feels Like Forever (3:14)
Life Screams (3:30)
Faith (3:51)
Roxanne (Live) (5:25)
Run to You (3:38)

Recent Reviews
Serve Somebody
Kevin Max

Release Date: July 7, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 4.5 stars
Every Mile Mattered
Nichole Nordeman

Release Date: July 28, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Rating: 4 stars
Third Day

Release Date: August 4, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Rating: 4 stars
Stephen Christian

Release Date: July 28, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 3 stars
Hillsong United

Release Date: June 9, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 4.5 stars
John Reuben

Release Date: May 19, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Rating: 3.5 stars

More Content from CMADDICT

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (September 6, 2017) — “Real Love,” the brand-new song from powerhouse vocalist Blanca, is now available at all digital service providers and digital retailers. Upon release on Aug. 25, Spotify immediately added the fresh single to
NF - Let You Down (audio)

2017-09-15 13:28:23
Slightly Obsessed #196: Is Your God Too Small?

Across the United States, nature has been on a rampage. A series of earthquakes, fires, hurricanes,
Alive City

Album: Say
Genre: Pop

Copyright © 2017 · All Rights Reserved ·