Stars Go Dim "Stars Go Dim"
by Michael Tackett ( on 2016-02-24 14:26:15

Stars Go Dim has seen massive changes through the years. Originally founded by a couple of members of the hard rock band Pillar, it now only has original band member and lead vocalist Chris Cleveland. Recently, Stars Go Dim released their first full-length debut and while there are some promising musical moments here, it does feel a little too safe and catered to CCM radio.

The album starts off with an old hymn "Doxology." The band does a good cover of the song but it does seem to stretch a little too long at almost 5 minutes. The next two tracks "Alive in You" and "You Are Loved" are some of the best on the record. "You Are Loved" is a fantastic pop anthem, and current radio hit about being yourself, and that, no matter what, there is someone that loves you. It’s a great message and a pretty catchy song.

Some other highlights include "24/7" and "Where You Are." Both of these songs have great lyrical messages and are different musically than the rest of the album. "24/7" really focuses on the acoustic guitar and "Where Are You" on beats and loops. They, and the other tracks I mentioned, give a fresh sound that stands above the rest of the record.

The rest of the record is very similar lyrically and musically that each song starts to blend in a little too much. While a decent debut from a talented band, I would have liked to see more diversity in sound and tone. Nevertheless, as the band matures and finds their own sound I will be eager again to see where they land next.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Genre: Contemporary / Pop
Label: Fervent Records / Word
Release Date: October 30, 2015
Buy it: Amazon - iTunes

Doxology (4:38)
Alive In You (3:48)
You Are Loved (3:27)
All I Have (4:25)
Walking Like Giants (3:14)
If It's Amazing Grace (4:05)
Love That Won't Let Go (3:42)
See You (4:01)
Stars (3:10)
24/7 (3:42)
Where You Are (3:24)
Morning Star (3:45)
Never Burn Out (3:54)
Here (3:42)


Recent Reviews
Gone (Deluxe)

Release Date: October 27, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
In Prayer
Salt of the Sound

Release Date: October 13, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
It’s Finally Christmas (EP)
Casting Crowns

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Suddenly (or The Nuclear Sunburst of the Truth Revealed)
Young Oceans

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Matt Maher

Release Date: September 29, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Faith Hope Love Repeat
Brandon Heath

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey

More Content from CMADDICT

NASHVILLE, TENN (April 23, 2019) Renowned worship leaders Phil Wickham (Fair Trade Services) and Chris Quilala (Jesus Culture / Capitol Christian Music Group) have released a new song...
Quantum Series - Quantum Teaser Trailer (Christian sci-fi series)

2019-08-22 11:25:32
Most Addictive Song - Newsboys "Only the Son (Yeshua)" - May 2019

The Most Addictive Song for May 2019 is the song from the Newsboys titled "Only the Son (Yeshua)". Check it out!
Well Done (Acoustic)
The Afters

Album: Fear No More
Genre: Rock

Social Media

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved ·