by Michael Tackett ( on 2015-07-21 13:13:41

SHINEBRIGHT, once called Shine Bright Baby, is a wife/husband duo that debuted on BEC records in 2013 with their first full-length record “Dreamers.” Two years later they are back with "Only You - EP”.

The EP starts off with very pop filled tracks “Closer to the Sun” and “Reckless for Love.” Both are encouraging upbeat tracks, which encourages the listener to experience life outside of this world. We are also given the title track, which is a wonderful worship filled track that proclaims the power of Christ.

The two highlights from this record are ones that actually don’t fit with the pop sound of the other songs. "Limitless (feat. Rapture Ruckus)" and "Spectacle of Light" are both looped with dance beats and aggressive vocals which are highlights because of just how different they are.

We are also given 3 remix tracks that are completely different than the originals. All have been stripped of their pop sound for more electronic sound. While this is typical of remixes, these remixes seem to make more sense to the overall sound of the band and thus makes the originals look more out of place.

While SHINEBRIGHT shows much promise, this EP does fall a little short with the lack of original material (5 original tracks to 4 repeat tracks) and the switch from very pop to aggressive dance beats in the matter of minutes. I am looking forward to seeing what lies ahead for the band and curious on what music direction they decide to take next.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Genre: Pop
Label: BEC Recordings
Release Date: July 17, 2015
Buy it: Amazon - iTunes

Closer to the Sun (3:29)
Reckless for Love (feat. Jonathan Thulin) [Album Version] (3:21)
Limitless (feat. Rapture Ruckus) (3:23)
Only You (3:00)
Spectacle of Light (3:46)
Closer to the Sun (Unikron Remix) (4:20)
Limitless (Matthew Parker Remix) (4:26)
Only You (David Thulin Remix) (4:17)
Reckless for Love (3:20)


Recent Reviews
Gone (Deluxe)

Release Date: October 27, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
In Prayer
Salt of the Sound

Release Date: October 13, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
It’s Finally Christmas (EP)
Casting Crowns

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Suddenly (or The Nuclear Sunburst of the Truth Revealed)
Young Oceans

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Matt Maher

Release Date: September 29, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Faith Hope Love Repeat
Brandon Heath

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey

More Content from CMADDICT

NASHVILLE, TENN. (FEBRUARY 08, 2018) Hawk Nelson is gearing up for spring with a brand new album releasing on April 6th and tour beginning later this month on February 22nd. The new album, Miracles
Owl City - Be Brave

2018-04-06 11:51:15
Slightly Obsessed #216: Daddy Has You

As I sat at the red light, a pick-up pulled up beside me in the other lane. The window was rolled down, and the driver rested his arm lazily on the door ledge. A chihuahua fur baby sat perched in the crook of the driver’s arm, yapping with all its tiny might at the pickup in front of me.
Be Still, My Soul
Salt of the Sound

Album: In Prayer
Genre: Worship

Social Media

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved ·