Owl City "Mobile Orchestra"
by Michael Tackett (cmaddict.com) on 2015-07-01 15:36:10

Owl City (Adam Young), an independent artist for many years, broke out in the mainstream with his 2009 mammoth hit single “Fireflies”. Having mostly been off the radar the last couple of years (other than a EP a few months ago) Young comes back with a bang this summer with a pop/electronic record that features some surprising guest vocalists.

The album starts off with Verge (guest artist Aleco Bracc). It’s a track that we’ve come to expect from Owl City. Bold guest vocals with an energetic electronic sound. The great thing, while this track is slightly predictable, the album does pick up speed and has many highlights throughout.

From Verge we are given some indepth and sometimes worship filled tracks like “Finding Love” and “My Everything”. These two tracks show that Young isn’t going to water down his faith but at the same time isn’t going to water down the artistic side of his work either.

A highlight for me is country artist Jake Owen's bruzzy drum filled track “Back Home”. This song compliments Owen’s southern vocals nicely with Young’s electronic country vibe. Never would I have thought a country artist and an electronic/pop artist could make such a catchy and ... respectable track but I have been proven wrong!

For those who have discredited Owl City as a "one hit wonder", or think all electronic music sounds the same, you may want to give him another chance. Unusual guest artists makes this record a true gem. (I mean...Hanson?!... It surprisingly works) Maybe it’s because its unexpected or that Young’s beats really fit well with the guest artists. Either way this is a great pop/electronic record for this summer!

Rating: 4 out of 5

Genre: Pop / Electronic
Label: Republic
Release Date: July 10, 2015
Buy it: Amazon - iTunes

1. Verge
2. I Found Love
3. Thunderstruck
4. My Everything
5. Unbelievable
6. Bird With A Broken Wing
7. Back Home
8. Can't Live Without You
9. You're Not Alone
10. This Isn't The End


Recent Reviews
Gone (Deluxe)

Release Date: October 27, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
In Prayer
Salt of the Sound

Release Date: October 13, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
It’s Finally Christmas (EP)
Casting Crowns

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Suddenly (or The Nuclear Sunburst of the Truth Revealed)
Young Oceans

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Matt Maher

Release Date: September 29, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Faith Hope Love Repeat
Brandon Heath

Release Date: October 20, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey

More Content from CMADDICT

NASHVILLE, TENN (April 23, 2019) Renowned worship leaders Phil Wickham (Fair Trade Services) and Chris Quilala (Jesus Culture / Capitol Christian Music Group) have released a new song...
Quantum Series - Quantum Teaser Trailer (Christian sci-fi series)

2019-08-22 11:25:32
Most Addictive Song - Newsboys "Only the Son (Yeshua)" - May 2019

The Most Addictive Song for May 2019 is the song from the Newsboys titled "Only the Son (Yeshua)". Check it out!
Well Done (Acoustic)
The Afters

Album: Fear No More
Genre: Rock

Social Media

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved · CMADDICT.com