House Of Heroes "Suburba"
by Kevin Thorson ( on 2010-08-05 16:09:14

House of Heroes adds another impressive project to their already stellar line of releases. "Suburba" is an energetic album that feels huge and yet has that garage band next door feel, down to earth and full of life. ”We wanted it to sound very American and full of youthful energy," says frontman Tim Skipper, "I think it came out exactly the way we wanted it to.”

Out of the gate, the first track "Relentless" sets up the album perfectly and maintains that feel throughout. The lively and incredibly catchy "Love Is For the Middle Class" is a song you won't get out of your head, and won't want to. Another great track is "Independence Day For A Petty Thief" with its gritty guitar riffs and fireworks, yes, fireworks.

"Suburba" is not a shallow album at all, but quite the opposite. With its more than fair share of hope-filled worship ballads such as "Constant" and "Burn Me Down", the former being one of the best examples on the album. “This record is about growing up in middle class suburbia,” says Skipper "’s about realizing, throughout all of it, that God is real and is the one constant among all the variables of life.”

There's alot to like about this release, a perfect blend of energetic fun and inspiring songs all wrapped in one. An excellent "summer-fun" album and quite possibly the best rock album of 2010. A definite must get.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Genre: Rock
Label: Gotee Records
Release Date: August 3, 2010
Buy it: Amazon MP3

1. Relentless (4:29)
2. Elevator (2:58)
3. Love Is For The Middle Class (3:14)
4. So Far Away (3:41)
5. God Save The Foolish Kings (3:51)
6. Salt In The Sea (4:29)
7. Independence Day For A Petty Thief (3:43)
8. Somebody Knows (3:44)
9. Disappear (4:24)
10. She Mighty Mighty (3:22)
11. Constant (3:38)
12. Burn Me Down (5:21)
13. Galveston (Amazon MP3 Exclusive) (3:44)
14. Patient (iTunes Exclusive)

Recent Reviews
Every Mile Mattered
Nichole Nordeman

Release Date: July 28, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Rating: 4 stars
Third Day

Release Date: August 4, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Rating: 4 stars
Stephen Christian

Release Date: July 28, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 3 stars
Hillsong United

Release Date: June 9, 2017
Reviewer: Michael Tackett
Rating: 4.5 stars
John Reuben

Release Date: May 19, 2017
Reviewer: Andrew Funderburk
Rating: 3.5 stars
Hands High
Equippers Revolution

Release Date: July 14, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Ownbey
Rating: 4.5 stars

More Content from CMADDICT
PLUMB Returns with “God Help Me” Single

Nashville, TN – Today, PLUMB launched the next chapter of her career, releasing her new single “God Help Me.” The song, produced by Jeremy Redmon (Big Daddy Weave), has already found a place on radio, being added out of..
NASA - NASA Live Solar Eclipse Coverage

2017-08-21 09:03:30
Slightly Obsessed #192: Heaven Is Calling: Consider Jesus

Some days we can barely hear it. Other days it drives us to our knees. But it’s always there; that persistent tug in our souls. Whether we trudge through our days or chase the stars of fame and fortune, we can’t drown out the cry that sounds silently in the pit of our being, jarring us with its urgency and moving us with its tears.
Alive City

Album: Say
Genre: Pop

Copyright © 2017 · All Rights Reserved ·